• 🛑Hello, this board in now turned off and no new posting.
    Please REGISTER at Anabolic Steroid Forums, and become a member of our NEW community! 💪
  • 🔥Check Out Muscle Gelz HEAL® - A Topical Peptide Repair Formula with BPC-157 & TB-500! 🏥

Newbie-How much protein?

cjrmack

Registered
Reaction score
IML Gear Cream!
Hi all, a newbie here. I have been doing a lot of cardio (bicycle and swimming) the past few months. In the process I lost about 12 pounds by eating sensibly and cutting out fast food, cookies, ice cream, etc.

I am 43 y/o, 5'11" 186 lbs. I normally eat oatmeal or cereal and fruit for breakfast, sandwich and fruit for lunch, chicken or fish, potato, rice or pasta and a veggie for dinner, lowfat yogurt for snack. I also eat fruits or nutritional snack bars for snacks during the day.

I just started working out with weights about 3 weeks ago. I do about an hour of lifting on Mon, Wed, and Fri and cardio on Tues, Thur, and Sat. I am pleased with my progress but I have read that protein will help increase my muscles.

My questions regarding protein intake are as follows:

About how much protein (grams) should I have per day?

Does too much protein mess with you calcium?

Are protein shakes or bars a good way to go to get extra protein?

Any help anyone can give me in regards to these questions is appreciated. Thanks.

Originally posted by cjrmack
Hi all, a newbie here. I have been doing a lot of cardio (bicycle and swimming) the past few months. In the process I lost about 12 pounds by eating sensibly and cutting out fast food, cookies, ice cream, etc.

Congratulations and Welcome to IM :wave:

I am 43 y/o, 5'11" 186 lbs. I normally eat oatmeal or cereal and fruit for breakfast, sandwich and fruit for lunch, chicken or fish, potato, rice or pasta and a veggie for dinner, lowfat yogurt for snack. I also eat fruits or nutritional snack bars for snacks during the day.