• 🛑Hello, this board in now turned off and no new posting.
    Please REGISTER at Anabolic Steroid Forums, and become a member of our NEW community! 💪
  • 🔥Check Out Muscle Gelz HEAL® - A Topical Peptide Repair Formula with BPC-157 & TB-500! 🏥

squat help

95rtturbo

Registered
Reaction score
IML Gear Cream!
What's up guys. I have been having a problem increasing strength on my squats. I am 5'9", ~165(25 years old), and I have been working out for about 6 years. It seems that ever since I have started working out seriously, I have not noticed a major change in my squat poundages. My heavy set is only 225lbs for 6 reps. My legs, however, are actually very strong. For example, on the Cybex 45 degree leg press at the gym, I can do 11 45 pound plates on each side, for a good 6 reps (going deep, all the way down to my chest, with no assistance from my arms or a spotter). I always impress people when I do leg press, but when I do squats, I embarass myself. I do legs basically once every 5-6 days, and I usually do 4 movements (not including calves). I quit doing squats on every workout because of the embarassment. When I do them, I usually do 5-6 sets, with 3 of them not being all out (muscular failure) sets. Does anyone have any suggestions?

As you have found out strength seen on the leg press does not carry over to the squat rack.

How is your technique on the squat rack? Legs shoulder width or slightly more? Do you break parallel?

How is your technique on the squat rack? Legs shoulder width or slightly more? Do you break parallel?

Yep, my legs are a little more than shoulder width apart, and I go down until the top of my thighs are parallel to the floor. Also, I squat down fairly slow and controlled, and, on my way up, I try to come up with as much power as possible.