• 🛑Hello, this board in now turned off and no new posting.
    Please REGISTER at Anabolic Steroid Forums, and become a member of our NEW community! 💪
  • 🔥Check Out Muscle Gelz HEAL® - A Topical Peptide Repair Formula with BPC-157 & TB-500! 🏥

Pec Workout - not feeling the strain

chrischarles

Registered
Reaction score
IML Gear Cream!
Hi there. This is a newbie question for sure, but I've been training hard for about 4 months now. I do a 4 day split routine.

On one of the days, I focus on Pectorals.
I do 4 sets, and increasing weight / decreasing sets, last set to failure:

Bench Press (Dumbbell)
Machine Chest Press (Seated)
Bench Press (Smith Machine, Decline)
Bench Press (Smith Machine, Incline)
Pec Deck Flyes
Flyes (Cable, Bent Over)
Machine Chest Press (Incline)

My problem is that I don't feel the strain in my chest when I'm doing most of these exercises, I feel it mostly in my arms (Triceps & Forearm).

The only exercise where I really feel my chest working is the "Pec Deck Flyes" .

With a mix of machines + free weights, is it normal that I feel it more in my arms than in my pecs, when I'm doing reps up until failure, especially for excurses that are supposed to isolate the pectorals?

Thanks for the advice in advance.

1. Widen your grip on bench by a finger or two and see how that feels.

2. Stop using the smith machine - do proper bench.

3. Cut down the number of exercises and sets you're doing. You do more sets for your chest in that single workout than i do for my entire body in a week!!! Think about that.

4. Do you really need to 'feel the strain'? Are you progressing in weight on the bar? Reps? Has your bodyweight increased if you're going for mass gain? If you don't know the answers to these questions then perhaps you should start paying greater attention to your training. Pick a more tangible and measurable indicator of success.

Haha couldn't have said it better. Your muscles are probably just numb from overtraining.