Use Coupon Code SPOOK25 for 25% Discount!

Can training my abs make me look fat?

renewbie

Rep Points

Can training my abs make me look fat?

Ok, it may sound stupid but let me explain. I've been training for around 5 months and I've been making gains in all departments - my arms and shoulders are larger, my chest has become more defined, and my stomach, although when I tense my abs them I can feel that they are rock hard, still looks fat. I'm very pleased with my body's appearance is developing, but the 'belly' spoils it all.
    I know having a '6-Pack' is all down to body fat %. I don't know what mine is - I know it's too high for developing a 6-pack, but this isn't what I want. Although I've become good at controlling my diet, I'm not focusing on getting my BF% down that low. What I want (for now) is getting my torso into a V-shape - wide shoulders, chest/back and a tapering waist.
    Anyway, to get to my point, I've started to think that (because I don't have an insanely low BF%), by training my abs I am making my lower torso wider, which is not what I want for a V-shaped torso.

So is this reasoning correct? Should I turn down my ab training so that in contrast my chest will stick out more?
    Or will it look rediculous? Should I try to get my BF% down so that my abs show through?

Thanks to all who can answer this
    John C.
    No one will push you harder than you.
    "The unexamined life is not worth living" - Socrates

Fit Freak
    ELITE MEMBER

Rep Points

Keep training your abs. It is unlikely that they will develop enough to cause your stomach to protrude. I would suggest that as your BF% decreases so will your waist size. If your BF% has been elevated for some time you will probably lose a lot of internal BF as well as subcutaneous BF thus making you waist much smaller as you lean out.