NapsGear.net

Overtaxing the nervous system

Training Trainer
    ELITE MEMBER

Rep Points

Overtaxing the nervous system

Wondering if any of the advanced age lifters here (I'm in my late 30's) ever have a problem with this.

Recently I started lifting heavier again wanting to gain some strength back which has been going very well. However, just recently I've noticed that after about 8-10 sets my system starts to go a little haywire - shaky, feeling lightheaded sometimes and very tired afterwards with poor concentration. I'm doing about a 5-8RM program depending on the muscle group.

Could I just be using too short rest between sets? I normally rest for anywhere from 45-90 seconds.
    Today I can do what others will not so that tomorrow I will do what others cannot.

The difference between winners and losers is that winners do things that losers don't want to do.

can't never could
    ELITE MEMBER

Rep Points

you know more about this stuff than this newbie, but for me, if i'm going 5-8 i take atleast 2 min between. There has to be time for the glycogen to be replenished-or whatever all the scientific explanation is- i just know (for me) if i dont adjust my rest to the intensity level i dont get a good wo.I've found the same to be true about rest between wo's. If i go to absolute failure on my deds i need an extra day to recoup, or my next wo stinks. Take a longer time and see what happens, play with the variables untill it changes.
    ps did u get that name from the "outsiders" by se hinton?

Non-Elite Member

Rep Points

I had that problem, especially on leg day. I always felt like I've had enough after 2 heavy exercises on legs... but Jack3d took care of that.

Training Trainer
    ELITE MEMBER

Rep Points

Quote Originally Posted by x~factor View Post
    I had that problem, especially on leg day. I always felt like I've had enough after 2 heavy exercises on legs... but Jack3d took care of that.