• 🛑Hello, this board in now turned off and no new posting.
    Please REGISTER at Anabolic Steroid Forums, and become a member of our NEW community! 💪
  • 🔥Check Out Muscle Gelz HEAL® - A Topical Peptide Repair Formula with BPC-157 & TB-500! 🏥

thyroid

dirtwarrior

Registered
Reaction score
IML Gear Cream!
I had a blood test last week as part of my yearly physical. Same as last year my thyroid is overactive but a little more than last year.
I went to the VA clinic (yes I am a vet) for a consult.
They want to give me a liquid to burn off part of my thyroid and then put me on thyroid meds to normalize me.
That sounds weerd cause I feel fine.
They said elevated thyroid can cause anxiety and other problems.
I asked the problems of depressed thyroid and they were very vague.

I need the straight scoop. Is it bad to have elevated thyroid vs depressed thyroid

were you told you had graves disease or toxic multinodular thyroid? it makes a big difference, the former can sometimes burn itself out without any treatment, how high was your tsh and free t4?

This is not ragingly high, the next step is to find out if this is graves disease or toxic nodular goiter, I suspect it is the latter. The former, many times you can be given PTU or similar drugs to supress it for a while and then come off within a year and the thyroid normalizes itself again, all without the need for radioactive iodine ablation. You need to have a nuclear thyroid scan to sort this out. The latter may need surgery or radioactive ablation or just monitored if you have subclilnical hyperthyroidism ( which sounds like that might be the case) . WHen it stays high for a long time it can cause osteoporosis, cardiomyopathy etc. but it sounds like you need to get a second opinion or have further studies.

see link regarding toxic nodular goiter, treatment is not black and white as the first line states:
The optimal therapy for treatment of toxic nodular goiter (TNG) remains controversial