Follow Us on Facebook        Subscribe to us on YouTube        Follow Us on Twitter        IronMagLabs on Instagram        Sign Up for our Newsletter

Cheat Meal / Diet Planning Question

Rep Points

Cheat Meal / Diet Planning Question

Yes, another cheat meal thread...Although this one actually has an interesting question...

Obviously, a cheat meal, is a meal where you eat whatever you want not really caring about the benefits or the breakdown of the food.

Usually a cheat meal for me will occur on the weekends, either Friday/Saturday night when I'm out with friends. Will grab dinner and then go out, and I'll order something that I like. Sometimes I also grab breakfast with my mom on Sundays at a local breakfast spot and have a nice meal. Right now I'm dieting, and try to limit this to 1-2 times a week. Sometimes the cheat happens out of the blue when I'm out, other times it's a planned meal out.

I've been dieting for about 4 months now, and doing around 1,900-2,100 calories (400-500 cal deficit) a day and weighing in around 190lbs. I've been averaging about 4-5lb loss per month (only weight myself on the 1st of every month) so this seems to be about the right amount. I have a pretty sedimentary job, and always working on computers, with a small amount of physical activity.

Here are some interesting questions:

1. If I'm only doing a 500 cal deficit a day, which relates to 1lb a week of loss...How does a cheat meal not ruin the deficit? Let's say I have a 1500 cal over a daily amount, wouldn't that pretty much negate 3 days of the deficit? I just don't seem to understand how it's possible to have cheats and still have that 3,500 calorie deficit.

2. How many cheat meals can you have a week and get away with? How many do you guys do?