Use Coupon Code SPOOK25 for 25% Discount!

what is High Intensity Interval Training-HIIT?

Rep Points

what is High Intensity Interval Training-HIIT?

could you design me a program for the treadmill. Right now i warm up for a minute, run a mile, walk for 3 minutes, run a mile, walk for 4-5 minutes and run about .75 miles then walk until 45 minutes is up to cool down. What could i be doing better? I'm on a cutting diet plan currently.
    "fuck it all, and fucking no regrets"

James Hetfield

Damage Inc.

Meathead
    ELITE MEMBER

Rep Points

Rep Points

i'm in reasonably good cardio shape cause i've been running off and on for about 2 months so i'm not gonna start at 4 minutes i'll start at 10. I do 30 second jogging sprinting intervals for the whole 10 minutes?
    "fuck it all, and fucking no regrets"

James Hetfield

Damage Inc.

Well Read
    ELITE MEMBER

Rep Points

Originally posted by cheesegrater
    i'm in reasonably good cardio shape cause i've been running off and on for about 2 months so i'm not gonna start at 4 minutes i'll start at 10. I do 30 second jogging sprinting intervals for the whole 10 minutes?
    Cheese – that will work fine if you can sustain it 10 minutes: I warmup about 4 minutes slow/moderate jog, then 8 cycles of 20 sec sprint (and I mean all out) and 10 sec jog followed by 4 min cool down. That’s it – very simple. It's a ‘lil hard/uncomfortable for a short time but its over fast. And what a terrific metabolic raise and anaerobic conditioner (with some cross train benefit too). I change ratios now and then to mix it up – try 30 sec sprint and 30 jog intervals or increase number of cycles significantly as you get more developed capacity. After doing this for about a month, the cross train benefit permitted me to do sustain “normal” aerobic/cardio very close to max heart rate (90-95%) for 30 minutes without breathing hard (but have a mop handy for the sweat). It’s an amazing conditioner.