10 Interesting Facts About The Mr. Olympia Competition

Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Purple One
    The Admin's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2000

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1,063 Posts
    Rep Points

    Post 10 Interesting Facts About The Mr. Olympia Competition

    10 Interesting Facts About The Mr. Olympia Competition

    Here are some cool facts about the history of the Mr. Olympia contest!

    The Mr. Olympia contest is undoubtedly the standard by which the world’s greatest bodybuilder is determined (although some may argue that this may no longer be the case).

    But fans know it’s the ultimate fitness competition and we’re only a few days away from learning who will hoist the Sandow to become the face of Joe Weider’s Olympia Fitness and Performance Weekend.

    Here are 10 facts about the Mr. Olympia contest that you may or may not have been aware of…

    1. Total Mr. O’s crowned
    Only 14 men have been crowned overall Mr. Olympia since 1965 when Larry Scott was the first to win the contest to 2018 when Shawn Rhoden won his first title.

    2. Where did “Olympia” come from?
    You’d be really surprised to know that the “Olympia” name came from a brewing company based in Washington which was founded in 1896 by Leopold Schmidt.

    3. Home of the Olympia
    Las Vegas, Nevada has been the home for the Olympia since 1999. But from 1965 until 1999, multiple places have hosted the event.

    5. Who has the most wins in Olympia history?
    Ronnie Coleman (1998-2005) and Lee Haney (1984-1991) are tied for most Olympia wins with 8 titles each. And their wins were consecutive with no gaps in between.

    6. Record for most Olympia appearances
    Nobody has competed on the Olympia stage more than “The Blade” Dexter Jackson who has made 19 appearances (won Olympia in 2008). He also has the most IFBB wins in history.

    7. Unopposed wins
    Sergio Oliva was the only man to compete at the 1968 Mr. Olympia competition because the rest of the competitors apparently had more important things going on in their lives at the time (more for him).

    And in 1971, Arnold Schwarzenegger put on a one-man show because the other three competitors (Sergio Oliva, Roy Callendar, and Franco Columbo) were disqualified before the competition.

    8. Youngest and Oldest champion
    Arnold Schwarzenegger holds the record for youngest Mr. Olympia champion by winning his first title in 1970 at 23 years and 2 months. While Shawn Rhoden won the competition in 2018 at the age of 43 years and 5 months.

    9. Competitors who have won more than once
    All but 4 legends have won the Olympia more than once and the ones who have repeated are Larry Scott (2), Sergio Oliva (3), Arnold Schwarzenegger (7), Franco Columbo (2), Frank Zane (3), Lee Haney (8), Dorian Yates (6), Ronnie Coleman (8), Jay Cutler (4), and Phil Heath (7).

    10. Eugen Sandow
    The Mr. Olympia trophy (Sandow trophy) was named after Eugen Sandow who was an iconic bodybuilder, and showman who also competed in Strongman.

    And the first Sandow trophy was award at the 1977 Mr. Olympia competition in honor of his contribution to the sport.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Interesting new facts on digestion.
    By Trouble in forum Diet & Nutrition
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 08:42 PM
  2. Some interesting facts about vitamins.
    By BraveUlysses in forum Supplements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 09:54 AM
  3. Interesting Facts
    By Little Wing in forum Anything Goes
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 04-19-2005, 10:48 AM
  4. Interesting Facts and Figures
    By The Admin in forum Diet & Nutrition
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-01-2003, 11:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Copyright© 2001-2020 IronMag® Bodybuilding Discussion Forums