NapsGear.net

Follow Us on Facebook        Subscribe to us on YouTube        Follow Us on Twitter        IronMagLabs on Instagram        Sign Up for our Newsletter

Dead lifts off low rack instead of floor okay?

Rep Points

Dead lifts off low rack instead of floor okay?

Hi everyone,

Well, being taller (6'1") I feel vulnerable at the bottom of the lift (I know there are taller guys who probably don't feel the same). I've been doing my dead lifts off the bottom stops for the past 2 years, which means instead of the plates hitting the floor, the movement stops about 5-6" higher than that (bar is mid-shin). I feel much safer, with less back curvature. I can also go heavier (an extra plate/side).

I throw in weighted hyper-extensions to hit the lower back that not going to the floor missed.

Anyone think this is okay? Is it necessary to go to the floor?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

flawless

Rep Points

That is fine. A lot of people do deadlifts from low rack where the pins are set so it should be no problem as long as your form is good and you are doing other back exercises to hit all muscles for your back.

Rep Points

Thanks man. Wanted to hear just that. Yeah, I keep it varied, so that's good. And my form feels good this way. I can focus on getting more wait up and not worrying about my back snapping

Rep Points

This is a good exercise that lets one go a heavier than normal. I really feel these all over my back when i push it. I usually trian deads for powerlifting, but when i am massbuilding, i use these in conjunction with heavy deads. they are great for the traps too, and grip. Keep lifting.

Rep Points

I get great trap involvment with the heavier weight that the off-the-floor method allows. Unfortunately, I have to use straps for 3+plates. I try and grip until failure and then go for the straps. First time I did 3 plates and quarters I popped some blood vessels in my eye