25% Off Black Friday Sale

Question about losing size

Rep Points

Question about losing size

OK I hope this doesn't sound dumb, but I need get a smaller frame, especially around the chest, shoulders and arms.

I'm a soccer player and when I was 22 I was told I need to get stronger so the coach had me doing weights during the off-season and preseason. I've been doing this for the last 5 years. I'm 180cm tall and used to weigh 75 kilograms, I'm now 27 and weigh 89 kilos. I'm a lot broader in the chest, shoulders and arms but as a result I've lost a lot of pace. I'm not talking pace over 100m or so, I'm talking about pace of the mark and over about 10m-20m, that electric pace that's really important in my chosen sport, to get to the ball first or get around an opponent, I'm also less agile than I use to be.

Can anyone advise me the best, healthy way to do this. I've got about six months until the next season and hope to walk out on the field a lot trimmer and hopefully with a bit more pace and agility.

Thanks in advance.

Registered Abuser

Rep Points

Why don't you cut bodyfat first?
    I doubt it would make you fast if you lost a few lbs of muscle on your upperbody

Rep Points

I don't really have a lot of bodyfat, I think. I'm pretty sure it was fairly low last time I checked around 10% if I remember correctly.

Elite Kiki
    ELITE MEMBER

Rep Points

I heard somewhere that bodybuilders were the fastest people in the world for the first 3-5 yards.

Another myth I assume?
    Quote Originally Posted by kbm8795 View Post
    Oh, I think Americans understand that the one thing conservatives hate the most is the idea of spending American tax money on Americans. . .in America.

Your tax money is safe. . .in Iraq.
    Total ownage.

Registered Abuser

Rep Points

Quote Originally Posted by ForemanRules
    stop lifting

Maybe just lighten the weight and do higher reps for endurance purposes.
    Maybe 15-20 reps at 40-50% Intensity.

Rep Points

stop lifting