NapsGear.net

Follow Us on Facebook        Subscribe to us on YouTube        Follow Us on Twitter        IronMagLabs on Instagram        Sign Up for our Newsletter

Question's regarding Deadlift's!

Rep Points

Exclamation Question's regarding Deadlift's!

I like to do deadlift's in my training. At my gym I can only use DB's to perform them! So anyway, I done this exercise first time the other day loved it!

I overtrained slightly though I've really taxed my hams/lower back! I included them on my leg day is this right or should they be on back day?

I done 3sets im a beginner! 1set of 12, 1 of 10 and 1 of 8 do you think this is too much?

Also, how should my grip on the DB's be, I notice on BB dealifts you have each hand opposite! Should you do this with DB's?

I kept my legs straight nearly locked at the knees throughout the movement is this right? I tried to keep my back as straight as poosible as I do with sqauts is this the way?

Please try and answer these question's, because I am concerned about my form with this exercise and I know it's such a good one, I have to pluck up alot of courage to perform them!

Thanks in advance, Happy training! Raz.

IDIOT SAVANT

Rep Points

When to do deads isn't carved in stone. MOST lifters do them on back day since they are primarily a back exercise. The way you described them though, mostly straight legs, is called stiff legged deadlifts. They primarily work the hams and glutes. For that reason you could do them on leg day. Your choice. I would caution you though, if you choose to do them on leg day they will severely limit your ability to do a good heavy squat routine that same day. Lifters that do deads on leg day normally alternate between deads and squats. Do one this week and the other next week and so on and so forth. That's another reason most lifters do deads on back day, they don't like to miss squats on ANY week.