Blood Sugar/Glycemic Index holy grail of weight loss?

Rep Points

Blood Sugar/Glycemic Index holy grail of weight loss?

Guys, this is my daily diet/workout routine, i've been doing this for like 2 months now:

Wake: 6:30am
    HIIT on elliptical machine 45min
    breakfast: bowl of oatmeal or oatBran cereal, scoop or whey protein and water
    work (throughout the day): 2-3 pieces of fruit, like a 1 and a half handful of shelled peanuts (for fat) 1/2 cup of grilled chicken breasts
    home: pre- workout protein shake, in the gym no later than 6:30pm
    post workout protein shake w/bowl of oatbran (the fiber and low GI of the oatbran keeps me satiated for the rest of the night
    10:30 - bed

My goals: reducing body fat as much as possible; I'm 28yo, 5'9 159(naked)
    pretty good build, just wanting to shed annoying remainder of fat

This took me from a high of 200lbs, and admittedly, I was disgustingly fat (December 2005), hated my body/appearance, yet I was determined to change things..

Is my diet adequate? Any room for improvement to cut additional fat?

Oh and BTW, I did a bit of research on the glycemic index thing and diet and I consistently read that the low GI foods are slow burners thus keeping you full longer which keeps ME out of the kitchen...plus because I had an addiction to 'sugary' high GI breakfast cereals, where after eating, I could 'feel' the spike in my blood sugar immediately; thus I cut them out and went strictly to coarse grains (thus the old-fashioned oatmeal/oatbran thing)

Anyway, is it accurate in making the generalization that keeping one's blood sugar within a 'norm' (without spiking or tanking) via low GI foods maintains weight?
    Last edited by studen77; 06-23-2006 at 08:39 AM. Reason: more stuff

Founder of GOSB
    SUPER MODERATOR

Rep Points

Are you male or female? Either way, that is not enough food by no means.