• 🛑Hello, this board in now turned off and no new posting.
    Please REGISTER at Anabolic Steroid Forums, and become a member of our NEW community! 💪
  • 🔥Check Out Muscle Gelz HEAL® - A Topical Peptide Repair Formula with BPC-157 & TB-500! 🏥

Training a "Noob".

RasPlasch

Registered
Reaction score
IML Gear Cream!
My friend wants me to train him in the gym....sweet.

I am currently doing strength training (1-6 reps) for most lifts.
I am pretty sure, almost certain that beginners shouldn't be performing heavy weights with low reps.

I have a routine set up and everything. I'm just wondering the rep range I should use for this beginner. 1-5 like I am doing? 8-12? 5-10? 12-15?

He's not a complete beginner. But he's never really taken lifting seriously. He will lift for a couple months then quit for a long time. Then start over and lift again. Rinse and repeat.

when i start training one of my friends i start with the staples ( deads, squats, bench) the i also get them into using other compound movements at a relatively low weight so they can learn the form which to me is the most important factor when training , when their muscles get used to the movements i will start a more complex program.

i believe you can not teach someone form while using heavy weights , it gets compromised way to easily.

Yeah thats what I have been doing. I had him squat a few days ago. Tomorrow he is going to bench press. I just want to know what rep range is the best. I was thinking 8-12.

thats what i use i have him do 3 sets of 12 at approximately 20RM for the first week , then i will gradually move up by the 4th week they are doing 12 reps at 12rm then i will introduce a more complex routine. including pyramiding

Alright I guess I will do 8-12 but shoot for him to do more then 8.