Beginner Sit-up Advice

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Rep Points

Arrow Beginner Sit-up Advice

I Am a complete beginner when it comes to fitness training, I am weak, and I fully admit I am. I seek to change this, as I am looking to join the armed forces. A requirement to british armed forces is a reasonable level of physical fitness before application is considered. Running, press-ups etc etc I am fine with, I'm actually surprised with my level of fitness when running to be honest (I half expected myself to puke my guts up after the first few metres, but I managed 1/2km before getting to tired to continue).

A problem I am having is sit-ups, I looked at a video on youtube that showed how to do sit-ups correctly (site won't let me post youtube link so imagine one here). The problem I am having is I cannot even manage a single full sit-up. I am not feeling my abdominals getting anykind of workout, the strain I feel is on the lower back and side muscles(?). Will this improve? Will I eventually be able to complete a full situp by at least trying? I'm not getting far, this guy on the video is reaching his knees with his elbows, I get less than a inch off the ground. I am not fat, i'm actually quite thin so fat isn't stopping me from getting that far. Any help here would be appreciated.

Amor Fati

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Rep Points